Safdarjung Hospital was founded during the Second World War in 1942 as a Base Hospital for the allied forces. It was taken over by the Govt. of India in 1954 under the Ministry of Health. It has grown over the years into one of the largest tertiary level multi disciplinary healthcare institutions in this part of the World. Based on the needs and developments in Medical Care the hospital has been regularly upgrading its facilities from diagnostic and therapeutic angles in all the specialties. Various laboratories of the Pathology Department developed from time to time. The Hospital further expanded in the field of academics and the UCMS (University College of Medical Science started functioning which was later on shifted to Shadhara. The Academic growth of the hospital continued and Vardhman Mahavir Medical College (VMMC) was established in 2001.

Department of Pathology

 Department of Pathology is set up in Different areas of VMMC and Hospital and consists of Hospital and the teaching units.

Thus the various units of the pathology department are

  •  Teaching Unit VMMC, 4th floor 
  •  Histopathology and Cytopathology, 4th Floor VMMC Building.
  •  Clinical Pathology, Causality Building, 2nd floor.
  •  Blood Bank and Transfusion Medicine, CSSR Building, 2nd floor.


 Teaching Faculty Department of Pathology:



Dr. A.K. Mandal


Director,  Professor & Head of the Department


Dr. Kusum Gupta


Consultant & Professor



Dr. Rashmi Arora

Consultant & Professor



Dr. Sunil Ranga

Sr. Specialist & Associate Professor



Dr. D.S.Rawat

Sr. Specialist & Associate Professor



Dr. Indrani Dhawan

Consultant & Assistant Professor



Dr. Leelavathi Dawson

Sr. Specialist & Assistant Professor



Dr. Mukul Singh

Sr. Specialist & Assistant Professor



Dr. Charanjeet Ahluwalia

Specialist & Assistant Professor



Dr. Amit Kr.Yadav

Assistant Professor



Dr. Sachin Kolte

Assistant Professor



Dr. Sufian Zaheer

Assistant Professor



Last Updated on : 22/04/2014